Skip to main content Skip to footer

Mayor and Council

The City of Mt. Vernon operates under a council–manager form of government. The City Council is composed of a mayor and four council members who are elected for four-year terms that are staggered. The mayor is chosen on a separate ballot and serves as the ceremonial head of government.

What City Council makes policy about

City Council is the legislative body; its members are the community’s decision-makers. The council focuses on the community needs, goals, major projects, community growth, infrastructure improvements, financing and strategic planning. The City Council appoints and directs a City Manager to carry out policy and ensure that the entire community is being served. The City Manager makes policy recommendations to the council, but the council may or may not adopt them and may modify the recommendations. The City manager is bound by whatever action the Council takes.

Mt Vernon city council has the authority to:

  • Determine policy in the fields of planning, traffic, law and order, public works, finance, and recreation
  • Appoint and remove the city manager
  • Adopt the budget, levy taxes, collect revenues, and make appropriations
  • Appoint and remove the city attorney and city clerk
  • Authorize the issuance of bonds by a bond ordinance
  • Establish administrative departments, offices and agencies
  • Appoint members of the city boards, commissions and committees
  • Inquire into the conduct of any office, department, or agency of the city and make investigations into municipal affairs
  • Provide for an independent audit
  • Provide for the number, titles, qualifications, powers, duties, and compensation of all officers and employees of the city


Mayor John C. Lewis

John Lewis

Councilman Ray Botch

Ray Botch

Councilman Joe Gliosci

Joe Gliosci

Councilman Donte Moore

Donte Moore

Councilman Mike Young

Mike Young